Skip to content

Smoking Guns and Gambling Nuns

October 2, 2011

Wouldn’t that be the best Western EVER??

Lid and lower lashline: Fyrinnae Strip Poker (next time I’ll use PE so I don’t lose the sparkles)
Crease: mysterious Aziza II eyeshadow
Highlight and inner corner: SN Fire

Maybe someday I’ll photograph the Aziza palette. I’ve had that thing since I was 14 or 15, which makes it old. How old? OLD AS BALLS.

Lid/lower lashline: ES Acolyte, possibly over Pixie Epoxy
Inner corner: a shitty blend of NYX Kiwi and Yellow (NOT Yellow Funk)

I love how Acolyte looks as a smokey eye. The only disappointment with this look is how shitty the NYX shadows were. I’d forgotten that I had those two, apparently for a good reason. Kiwi is supposed to be a beautifully pigmented lime green shimmer, and it’s gorgeous in the pan. Yellow is a standard matte yellow GEE I HAD NO IDEA. Together they form… a disgusting muddy-bruise color.

Delicious.

I have to be honest, I felt pretty awesome in this makeup. I’ve never had much luck with the whole “smokey eye” thing before, but I think it was because I usually tried to use straight black colors and over-blended the crease/extended the color too far up toward the browbone. Lessons learned, my friends.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2011 8:20 pm

    “a disgusting muddy-bruise color” MY FAVOURITE!! For realzies :D

    • thecandiedmango permalink*
      October 10, 2011 8:44 am

      And YOU make it work, madam. I was just so disappointed because I was expecting, like, hot-blinding-chartreuse goodness with the way the eyeshadow looked in the pan and in swatches I’ve seen. NYX shadows have disappointed me ever since I got into indie makeup.

  2. October 3, 2011 12:40 am

    LOL!! Love the look on your face! This combination looks incredible on you :D

    • thecandiedmango permalink*
      October 10, 2011 8:43 am

      I try to make things fun :)

  3. October 3, 2011 9:15 am

    Oooooh, both these looks are gorgeous on you! I especially love the green smokey eye, though, and it’s brilliant with your eyecolor. And yes, smoking guns and gambling nuns WOULD be the raddest Western.

    • thecandiedmango permalink*
      October 10, 2011 8:42 am

      Why, thank you! I think smokiness mixed with colors makes all that darkness right around the eyeballs a lot easier to wear than straight black.

  4. October 8, 2011 8:12 am

    UNFFFFFFF Acolyte looks so good on you. <3 And I would love to star in Smoking Guns and Gambling Nuns, haha

    • thecandiedmango permalink*
      October 10, 2011 8:32 am

      I’ll start writing a screenplay. It will be a thing of beauty.

Leave a Reply

